Stamp Community Family of Web Sites
Thousands of stamps, consistently graded, competitively priced and hundreds of in-depth blog posts to read
Stamp Community Forum

Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your Password?

Welcome Guest! Need help? Got a question? Inherit some stamps?
Our stamp forum is completely free! Register Now!

What Are These 'Stamps' On A GB Sheet Called?

To participate in the forum you must log in or register.
Author Previous TopicReplies: 14 / Views: 5,193Next Topic  
Valued Member

United Kingdom
6 Posts
Posted 12/06/2013   08:31 am  Show Profile Bookmark this topic Add pennine56 to your friends list Get a Link to this Message
Hi

I'm fairly new to collecting and perhaps someone could clarify what these type of 'stamps' seen on some GB issues are formally called. They are perforated and directly attached to the valued postage stamp. Are they cinderellas, commemorative label, smilers or other?

In particular, would these 'stamps' 'count' in a formal thematic list and have a catalogue number if eg in the example enclosed I was collecting Darwin related stamps.

Thanks for any help.

regards
David

Send note to Staff
Edited by pennine56 - 12/06/2013 08:41 am

Pillar Of The Community
Canada
6525 Posts
Posted 12/06/2013   09:06 am  Show Profile Bookmark this reply Add jamesw to your friends list  Get a Link to this Reply
That's called a souvenir sheet. Would certainly count in a thematic collection. The labels attached to the stamp go by varying names, depending who you talk to, and those are often mentioned in catalogues relating to the stamp they are attached to. They have been discussed on the forum as 'future cinderellas'.
As for catalogue numbers for the entire sheet, I don't know about that. There may be a book that lists them. Our real experts can tell you.
And welcome to the forum.
Send note to Staff  Go to Top of Page
Pillar Of The Community
United States
1354 Posts