Stamp Community Family of Web Sites
Thousands of stamps, consistently graded, competitively priced and hundreds of in-depth blog posts to read
Stamp Community Forum

Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your Password?

Welcome Guest! Need help? Got a question? Inherit some stamps?
Our stamp forum is completely free! Register Now!

First Day Cover Catalogues

To participate in the forum you must log in or register.
Author Previous TopicReplies: 3 / Views: 888Next Topic  
Pillar Of The Community
United States
1188 Posts
Posted 04/09/2017   9:24 pm  Show Profile Bookmark this topic Add Stampman2002 to your friends list Get a Link to this Message
I've been working for some time on FDCs for the 1930's. I'm finding a LOT of FDCs which are not listed in any catalogue I've seen. I have several versions of the Planty-Mellone catalogs, with the most recent being the 2000-2010 versions which were soft cover perfect bound.

Is there any catalogue update which anyone is aware of which goes beyond that. I've visited the AFFDC society site, but that's not exactly one I'd call user friendly nor does there seem to be any concerted effort at updating information on the site for outdated catalogs.

I could see if I was running into one or two or even seven or eight unlisted cachets, but this is an issue which has been around since the 1934-35 period. It would seem to me, with the internet having been around since the 1990's that someone would have started working on compiling a more complete and definitive listing of FDCs for these issues.

Any information which can be provided would be greatly appreciated.

*** Moved by Staff to a more appropriate forum. ***
Send note to Staff

Valued Member
72 Posts
Posted 01/16/2019   8:45 pm  Show Profile Bookmark this reply Add Redtail to your friends list  Get a Link to this Reply
Stampman2002

I was researching this topic and found this post but no real info. Did you ever figure it out on your own?