Stamp Community Family of Web Sites
Stamp Community Forum
Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your Password?

Welcome Guest! Need help? Got a question? Inherit some stamps?
Our stamp forum is completely free! Register Now!

Ye Olde Album pages- is discoloration (foxing?) a problem?  

To participate in the forum you must log in or register.
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  
Valued Member
United States
8 Posts
Posted 10/12/2017   1:07 pm  Show Profile Bookmark this topic Add BrotherSquint to your friends list  Get a Link to this Message
I recently purchased a mostly complete collection of Czech stamps to 1950 on old Scott album pages. The edges of the pages show a tannish brown discoloration. I have a Minkus Master Global Album with similar issues. Is this a problem I should be concerned about enough to prompt immediate removal of all the stamps and remounting in a different album?
Send note to Staff

Pillar Of The Community
United Kingdom
2559 Posts
Posted 10/12/2017   3:22 pm  Show Profile Check GeoffHa's eBay Listings Bookmark this reply Add GeoffHa to your friends list  Get a Link to this Reply
This sounds more like shelf-storage marking than foxing, which is spotting on pages.
Send note to Staff  Go to Top of Page
Learn More...
4025 Posts
Posted 10/12/2017   3:29 pm  Show Profile Bookmark this reply Add 51studebaker to your friends list  Get a Link to this Reply
Can you post some images?
Don
Pillar Of The Community
United States
625 Posts
Posted 10/12/2017   5:51 pm  Show Profile Bookmark this reply Add hy-brasil to your friends list  Get a Link to this Reply
GeoffHa's got it. I assume its just affecting the page edges here, so it's just ageing and not-perfect storage. Part of it may be years of oil from fingers handling the pages.

Your stamps are okay. Just store your albums in a cool, dry place away from direct sun, working fireplaces, cooking smoke, etc.
Learn More...
4025 Posts