Stamp Community Family of Web Sites
Thousands of stamps, consistently graded, competitively priced and hundreds of in-depth blog posts to read
Stamp Community Forum

Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your Password?

Welcome Guest! Need help? Got a question? Inherit some stamps?
Our stamp forum is completely free! Register Now!

Stamp Collection Inventory

To participate in the forum you must log in or register.
Author Previous TopicReplies: 13 / Views: 2,072Next Topic  
United States
2 Posts
Posted 06/26/2019   8:34 pm  Show Profile Bookmark this topic Add boxerlover to your friends list Get a Link to this Message
I'm new to stamp collecting and was wondering if I should use google sheets or software made for stamp collecting. If I use google sheets how should I how organize it? And where should I go to find information about a stamp?

*** Moved by Staff to a more appropriate forum. ***
Send note to Staff

Valued Member
United States
79 Posts
Posted 06/26/2019   9:14 pm  Show Profile Bookmark this reply Add bakechad to your friends list  Get a Link to this Reply
There are several good inventory programs out there, but I use a spreadsheet.

The problem with proprietary software is that the minute you start using it, you need to do two things. Figure out how to backup the data from the software's database and figure out an exit plan for your data when the software goes away. If you can do that, proprietary software can be more enjoyable than a generic spreadsheet.

With that said, I use a spreadsheet for everything. Google sheets will work fine and since it's cloud based, you are less likely to lose your data. Although, I use and highly recommend https://www.libreoffice.org/ . It's a great open source office suite that works on Windows, Mac, & Linux. It also has a drawing program that can edit Steiner pages and create album pages from scratch.
Send note to Staff  Go to Top of Page
Pillar Of The Community
Learn More...
2838 Posts