Stamp Community Family of Web Sites
Thousands of stamps, consistently graded, competitively priced and hundreds of in-depth blog posts to read
Stamp Community Forum

Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your Password?

Welcome Guest! Need help? Got a question? Inherit some stamps?
Our stamp forum is completely free! Register Now!

Color Shades Of The 1851-57 3c Washington And H2o2

Next Page    

To participate in the forum you must log in or register.
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic
Page: of 5
Valued Member

United States
304 Posts
Posted 09/19/2019   10:34 pm  Show Profile Bookmark this topic Add Philazilla to your friends list Get a Link to this Message
I am studying shades of the 1851-57 Washington. I have treated four stamps with 3% Hydrogen Peroxide. Each of these stamps was scanned first, then submerged in H2O2 for 90 seconds, then rinsed off in water, dried and scanned again on identical equipment and settings. The changes in color were drastic.

All four of these stamps were color-identified by either Chase or Amonette, and likely changed color in the last 10-60 years.

I picked 4 stamps that looked a bit off compared to other references.

I'm considering doing this treatment on many more of my stamps, but I do not want to damage or alter them. I know some consider this treatment to be a major alteration that should be noted if selling them. I believe Bill Amonette did the H2O2 treatment and did not disclose when he did or didn't.

Is it generally accepted that a gentile H2O2 treatment removes sulphurization or oxidation and basically cleans the stamp bringing it to a more original color?

How do you know which stamps need this treatment?

Here is some dramatic eye candy for you. . .

Bright OB Before:

Bright OB After:

Deep EOB Before:

Deep EOB After:

Deep Yellowish Dull Red Before

Deep Yellowish Dull Red After

Medium Yellowish Brown Before

Medium Yellowish Brown After
Send note to Staff

Pillar Of The Community
United States
1700 Posts