Stamp Community Family of Web Sites
Thousands of stamps, consistently graded, competitively priced and hundreds of in-depth blog posts to read
Stamp Community Forum

Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your Password?

Welcome Guest! Need help? Got a question? Inherit some stamps?
Our stamp forum is completely free! Register Now!

Scott 10A Or 11 A? Worth Removing Stamp From Piece?

Next Page    

To participate in the forum you must log in or register.
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic
Page: of 2
Pillar Of The Community

United States
854 Posts
Posted 10/27/2019   4:28 pm  Show Profile Bookmark this topic Add rgstamp to your friends list Get a Link to this Message
Found this in old album. Someone wrote '51

I assume they are suggesting it is a Scott 10a?
I am not good with color (although this stamp seems to have that richness I associate with Scott 10s). However, from what I remember 1851 would be too early for a Scott 11.
(However I don't necessarily believe the person who wrote '51)

Seems like a reasonable example if truly a 10a?. I have a more scarce Scott 10 already in my album and have been searching for a reasonable 10a to put alongside. Is it worthwhile soaking and removing from piece?

Now that I scanned it I'm a little worried about top right corner but I may not be able to tell there is damage until I remove it. Thanks for opinions

Send note to Staff

Valued Member
United States
240 Posts
Posted 10/27/2019   4:47 pm  Show Profile Bookmark this reply Add Gar to your friends list  Get a Link to this Reply
Has character, I'd leave it together. Nice cancel too.
Send note to Staff  Go to Top of Page
Pillar Of The Community
2285 Posts
Posted 10/27/2019   4:49 pm  Show Profile Bookmark this reply Add John Becker to your friends list  Get a Link to this Reply