Stamp Community Family of Web Sites
Thousands of stamps, consistently graded, competitively priced and hundreds of in-depth blog posts to read
Stamp Community Forum

Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your Password?

Welcome Guest! Need help? Got a question? Inherit some stamps?
Our stamp forum is completely free! Register Now!

Need Some Help Please - Ceres French Revenue Stamps

Next Page    

To participate in the forum you must log in or register.
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic
Page: of 2
Valued Member

United Kingdom
20 Posts
Posted 10/28/2019   1:54 pm  Show Profile Bookmark this topic Add Bettie boo to your friends list Get a Link to this Message
I've been sorting my french and french colonies out and I've come across this pair I think they are french with I think the English queen but I'm not an expert so any light anyone can shed would be very grateful thank you
Send note to Staff

Valued Member
United States
395 Posts
Posted 10/28/2019   2:08 pm  Show Profile Bookmark this reply Add rdavid to your friends list  Get a Link to this Reply
French revenue stamps, I think. That is not an English Queen.
Send note to Staff  Go to Top of Page
Pillar Of The Community
United Kingdom
4549 Posts
Posted 10/28/2019   2:25 pm  Show Profile Check GeoffHa's eBay Listings Bookmark this reply Add GeoffHa to your friends list  Get a Link to this Reply
"Quittances" stamps from 1880-81, not listed in mainstream catalogues.
Pillar Of The Community
France
890 Posts
Posted 10/28/2019   3:48 pm  Show Profile Bookmark this reply Add vayolene to your friends list  Get a Link to this Reply
Not the English Queen,not a queen at all,but a goddess : Ceres (pictured too on first French postage stamps)
Bedrock Of The Community
Learn More...
Australia
28163 Posts
Posted 10/28/2019   4:15 pm  Show Profile Bookmark this reply Add rod222 to your friends list  Get a Link to this Reply
Get to know our lass, Ceres (Demeter)
She abounds on postage stamps.