Stamp Community Family of Web Sites
Thousands of stamps, consistently graded, competitively priced and hundreds of in-depth blog posts to read
Stamp Community Forum

Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your Password?

Welcome Guest! Need help? Got a question? Inherit some stamps?
Our stamp forum is completely free! Register Now!

Learning Experience, Damaged?

To participate in the forum you must log in or register.
Author Previous TopicReplies: 6 / Views: 782Next Topic  
Valued Member
United States
124 Posts
Posted 12/03/2019   09:46 am  Show Profile Bookmark this topic Add wannahocalugie to your friends list Get a Link to this Message
So as you may know from other threads, I'm just starting out. Loving the history of stamps, although I must admit I never gave them a thought before. I don't need the Scott # as I don't have any catalogs yet, too expensive and the library does not carry multiple copies. ***My question would be this...Since this particular stamp is cut, proper measurements and such would not be able to be exact, only extrapolated - guessed. Would this stamp be considered damaged? Was it cut wrong off the line or is this something that was done when removing from the cover as it is used? Is this something visually that one can tell and if so could you give examples or site. Reading is fundamental and all that. I find it fascinating that quite a few of you can look at a stamp and just blurt out the "make and model" if you will. Example, many threads have "gold diggers" thinking they have the one or two. The stamps look the exact same to me and even after an example is provided of a non-common stamp, they still just look the same. Fascinating! Thanks
Cheryl

Send note to Staff

Pillar Of The Community
3530 Posts
Posted 12/03/2019   10:27 am  Show Profile Bookmark this reply Add John Becker to your friends list  Get a Link to this Reply
Cheryl,

Several thoughts come to mind.