Stamp Community Family of Web Sites
Thousands of stamps, consistently graded, competitively priced and hundreds of in-depth blog posts to read
Stamp Community Forum

Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your Password?

Welcome Guest! Need help? Got a question? Inherit some stamps?
Our stamp forum is completely free! Register Now!

Printing Errors - Questions

Next Page    

To participate in the forum you must log in or register.
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic
Page: of 3
Valued Member
United States
51 Posts
Posted 01/14/2020   6:05 pm  Show Profile Bookmark this topic Add banknoteguy to your friends list Get a Link to this Message
Hey. I am kinda new at this but got interested about 6 months ago. I have been studying large banknotes.

I am uploading a couple images of a stamp on a cover that looks to me like it was over inked and smeared. Or is there a better explanation of what I see?

Thanks for the help.

Send note to Staff
Edited by banknoteguy - 01/14/2020 10:25 pm

Pillar Of The Community
United States
2233 Posts
Posted 01/14/2020   8:19 pm  Show Profile Check sinclair2010's eBay Listings Bookmark this reply Add sinclair2010 to your friends list  Get a Link to this Reply
I would not say that this is a result of over-inking. It could have been caused by poor plate wiping, dirty hands at the press, or the sheet being disturbed in some way before the ink dried. The best you can do is guess but that is all it will ever be.
Send note to Staff  Go to Top of Page
Pillar Of The Community
2529 Posts
Posted 01/14/2020   8:28 pm  Show Profile Bookmark this reply Add John Becker to your friends list  Get a Link to this Reply
The Vaux family is quite prominent in Philadelphia.
Pillar Of The Community
United States
6397 Posts
Posted 01/14/2020   10:28 pm  Show Profile Bookmark this reply Add revcollector to your friends list  Get a Link to this Reply

Also possibly some rust or minor damage to the plate which holds the ink.
Valued Member
United States
51 Posts