Stamp Community Family of Web Sites
Thousands of stamps, consistently graded, competitively priced and hundreds of in-depth blog posts to read
Stamp Community Forum

Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your Password?

Welcome Guest! Need help? Got a question? Inherit some stamps?
Our stamp forum is completely free! Register Now!

Unfamiliar Small Queen Cancellations

To participate in the forum you must log in or register.
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  
Valued Member
Learn More...
United States
241 Posts
Posted 01/15/2020   8:16 pm  Show Profile Bookmark this topic Add EMaxim to your friends list Get a Link to this Message
I'm relatively new to the Small Queen era. These two cancellations are unfamiliar. Any comments?

Send note to Staff

Pillar Of The Community
Canada
6453 Posts
Posted 01/15/2020   9:44 pm  Show Profile Bookmark this reply Add jamesw to your friends list  Get a Link to this Reply
according to Lacelle's book on fancy cancels, a crown cancel similar to yours was 'used for mail requiring special handling at Ottawa Main P.O.'
I will note that the cross at the top of the crown is slightly different on yours than on the one he illustrates.
One more closely resembling yours does appear in Holmes' Specialize Catalogue and appears on page 23 of the 1963 edition.
Both books suggest usage from 1880 to about 1890.
Boggs suggests use at the legislative office in Ottawa, but Lacelle discredits this.
Admittedly these are all old sources, and new info may certainly be out there.
Send note to Staff  Go to Top of Page
Edited by jamesw - 01/15/2020 9:51 pm
Pillar Of The Community
6776 Posts
Posted 01/15/2020   9:58 pm  Show Profile Bookmark this reply Add wert to your friends list  Get a Link to this Reply

Valued Member
Learn More...
United States
241 Posts
Posted 01/15/2020   10:21 pm  Show Profile Bookmark this reply Add EMaxim to your friends list  Get a Link to this Reply