Stamp Community Family of Web Sites
Thousands of stamps, consistently graded, competitively priced and hundreds of in-depth blog posts to read
Stamp Community Forum

Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your Password?

Welcome Guest! Need help? Got a question? Inherit some stamps?
Our stamp forum is completely free! Register Now!

Beginners Collection Critique Please

To participate in the forum you must log in or register.
Author Previous TopicReplies: 15 / Views: 862Next Topic  
Valued Member

Canada
123 Posts
Posted 02/22/2020   2:58 pm  Show Profile Bookmark this topic Add Hounddog Bill to your friends list Get a Link to this Message
As I have said before I'm very new to stamp collecting but with the kind assistance from members on this forum and studying past post I decided to begin a small collection.
First thing I did was buy the latest book.
I really like the earlier stamps so I decided to start at Scott #600 and work backwards as far as I can.
I'm not really attracted to used stamps a this point in time so I've been trying to collect MNH in F/VF condition.
I believe for the most part they're VF MNH with a few F and a few maybe XF. Opinions please?
The first picture is just to show how I'm storing them first in a unitrade flexo-grip page and then in an archival sleeve and into a leather binder.
Following are some pages working backwards from Scott #319 back to #249 for now.
I'll add some more pages in a few days.
I'm hoping I'll get some critique and suggestions before I move forward (or is it backwards) in my collecting.
Is this an acceptable way of storing them or should I get a proper stamp album?
All comments whether good or bad are welcome.

Cheers, Bill

Send note to Staff

Learn More...
8174 Posts
Posted 02/22/2020   3:11 pm  Show Profile Check 51studebaker's eBay Listings Bookmark this reply Add 51studebaker to your friends list  Get a Link to this Reply