Stamp Community Family of Web Sites
Thousands of stamps, consistently graded, competitively priced and hundreds of in-depth blog posts to read
Stamp Community Forum

Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your Password?

Welcome Guest! Need help? Got a question? Inherit some stamps?
Our stamp forum is completely free! Register Now!

A Family Heirloom Postcard

To participate in the forum you must log in or register.
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

United Kingdom
2 Posts
Posted 02/26/2020   10:01 am  Show Profile Bookmark this topic Add cadrcy to your friends list Get a Link to this Message
Hi all! This is my first time ever posting on a forum but I didn't really know where else to look and ask for help!

I have recently started digging into my family history, (predominantly Ireland, but some of my ancestors have been known to travel to the US.)

I have found this postcard in a box of photos; it is a portrait of an unknown ancestor of mine, with an indented stamp that says 'S Kaufman, New York'. I know a few ancestors that moved to reside in New York, but on the other side the address and message has been left blank, with no stamp.

I was wondering if anybody knows the origins of S Kaufman in New York?

I have attached pictures alongside to help!

Send note to Staff

Valued Member
Learn More...
United States
221 Posts
Posted 02/26/2020   1:12 pm  Show Profile Bookmark this reply Add jleb1979 to your friends list  Get a Link to this Reply
Welcome.
Not really a stamp related query, but I cannot resist poking at it a bit.

Identifying photographic studios and photographers is still best done by looking at the specific locale. National level searching is still pretty rudimentary. Your card appears to me to date from back around the turn of the century - which is actually good. It doesn't give a specific address, though, which many did as a form of advertising. If it had been posted, the cancel would give us a date, too, but we press onward.