Stamp Community Family of Web Sites
Thousands of stamps, consistently graded, competitively priced and hundreds of in-depth blog posts to read
Stamp Community Forum

Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your Password?

Welcome Guest! Need help? Got a question? Inherit some stamps?
Our stamp forum is completely free! Register Now!

What Kind Of Paper 3 Cent?

To participate in the forum you must log in or register.
Author Previous TopicReplies: 11 / Views: 527Next Topic  
Valued Member

Italy
21 Posts
Posted 07/15/2020   05:56 am  Show Profile Bookmark this topic Add josef61 to your friends list Get a Link to this Message

"Hello to all of you in the forum, I am passionate about American philately, I must say that I am a beginner in this field and I apologize for any errors of judgment, I ask your opinion on this 3 cents specifically on the type of paper used with excessive porosity 'so as to disfigure the face, in your opinion what kind of paper was used for these samples?

Send note to Staff

Valued Member
United States
452 Posts
Posted 07/15/2020   09:51 am  Show Profile Bookmark this reply Add wtcrowe to your friends list  Get a Link to this Reply
The gum on the early 1851 issue could be very poor, i.e. adherence ability was limited. Senders would attach a stamp with a wax seal or a wafer and press the stamp onto the letter to keep it attached to the wax seal. Based on your scan, I think this is what you are looking at.
Send note to Staff  Go to Top of Page
Valued Member
United States
158 Posts
Posted 07/15/2020   11:19 pm  Show Profile Bookmark this reply Add vinman to your friends list  Get a Link to this Reply
This stamp looks like it may have been mounted in a self sticking photo album and the glue is residue.
Valued Member
Italy
21 Posts
Posted 07/17/2020   06:25 am  Show Profile Bookmark this reply Add josef61 to your friends list  Get a Link to this Reply