Stamp Community Family of Web Sites
Thousands of stamps, consistently graded, competitively priced and hundreds of in-depth blog posts to read
Stamp Community Forum

Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your Password?

Welcome Guest! Need help? Got a question? Inherit some stamps?
Our stamp forum is completely free! Register Now!

New Zealand Paper Types 1908-34

To participate in the forum you must log in or register.
Author Previous TopicReplies: 7 / Views: 193Next Topic  
Pillar Of The Community
Learn More...
United States
516 Posts
Posted 08/14/2020   10:07 am  Show Profile Bookmark this topic Add EMaxim to your friends list Get a Link to this Message
Gibbons provides a nice description of the differences between the papers of De la Rue, Jones, Cowan, and Wiggins Teape. Nevertheless, as a relative beginner here, I'm having trouble sorting the typographed KGV issues of 1915-33 (SG 435-52) and the related officials of 1915-34 (SG O88-99). What's the veteran collector's secret to a quick and easy sorting process? (Or should I simply be reminding myself that one of the chief pleasures of collecting the classics lies in overcoming the challenges they present?)
Send note to Staff

Bedrock Of The Community
Learn More...
Australia
29882 Posts
Posted 08/14/2020   5:37 pm  Show Profile Bookmark this reply Add rod222 to your friends list  Get a Link to this Reply
I am having trouble understanding exactly what you seek.

Perhaps, using Scott catalogue,
"In 1916 the 1.5d, 2,3,6d 0f the 1915-16 issue, and the 8d of the 1909,
were printed on paper intended for the long rect stamps.

Ergo, the wmks are set wide apart, so that the smaller stamps show only a small part of the wmk, or none at all"

Helpful?
Send note to Staff  Go to Top of Page
Pillar Of The Community
Learn More...
United States
4609 Posts
Posted 08/14/2020   5:59 pm  Show Profile Bookmark this reply Add bookbndrbob to your friends list  Get a Link to this Reply