Stamp Community Family of Web Sites
Thousands of stamps, consistently graded, competitively priced and hundreds of in-depth blog posts to read
Stamp Community Forum

Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your Password?

Welcome Guest! Need help? Got a question? Inherit some stamps?
Our stamp forum is completely free! Register Now!

Hawid Mount Sizing Question

To participate in the forum you must log in or register.
Author Previous TopicReplies: 11 / Views: 488Next Topic  
Valued Member
United States
236 Posts
Posted 09/13/2020   06:51 am  Show Profile Bookmark this topic Add StatesmanStamper to your friends list Get a Link to this Message
I have never used Hawid mounts before but would like to for an upcoming project. Is the size listed for strips the stamp height the strips are designed to be used with? For example, if I have a stamp measuring 29mm would I need the strips listed as 29mm or would the slightly larger 30 be the one to use?

Thanks in advance,
Dale
Send note to Staff

Pillar Of The Community
Learn More...
United States
2854 Posts
Posted 09/13/2020   07:13 am  Show Profile Bookmark this reply Add angore to your friends list  Get a Link to this Reply
I just purchased some myself to try and seems to be if you have a 29mm stamp and use a 29mm mount you will have about 1mm margin at top. I was expecting a little more margin at top.

I just have strips. For example, a 29mm strip is 33mm tall. You meed to allow about 1.5mm for the seam.
Send note to Staff  Go to Top of Page
Al
Edited by angore - 09/13/2020 2:15 pm
Valued Member
Spain
204 Posts
Posted 09/13/2020   07:41 am  Show Profile Bookmark this reply Add Roberto59 to your friends list  Get a Link to this Reply
Hello.
Here's what a 48 stamp looks like on a 48 Hawid mount.
Regards.

Valued Member
United States
142 Posts
Posted 09/13/2020   1:52 pm  Show Profile Bookmark this reply Add leoh to your friends list  Get a Link to this Reply