Stamp Community Family of Web Sites
Thousands of stamps, consistently graded, competitively priced and hundreds of in-depth blog posts to read
Stamp Community Forum

Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your Password?

Welcome Guest! Need help? Got a question? Inherit some stamps?
Our stamp forum is completely free! Register Now!

Collection Of Nazi Postcards Included In Postcard Auction I Was Winning Bidder Ten Years Ago?

To participate in the forum you must log in or register.
Author Previous TopicReplies: 3 / Views: 282Next Topic  

United States
3 Posts
Posted 09/18/2020   02:31 am  Show Profile Bookmark this topic Add philnut59 to your friends list Get a Link to this Message
About ten years ago I attended an auction that included a lot of collectibles from coins to cash registers. I have been collecting stamps/covers/postcards since 1967 but at the time I was particularly interested in early Christmas cards and in the auction there was an item that included about 10,000 post cards. On the top of the box was about fifty Christmas postcards including some rare Victorian Green Santas and that is what convinced me to bid. The starting bid was $100 and there was no reserve and it was the second to last item and out of about 200 attendees by then only five of us remained and so I was the only bidder. So I got my rare Santa post cards for a fraction of their real value and everything else was a bonus. That's about 9550 bonus post cards lol.

So...