Stamp Community Family of Web Sites
Thousands of stamps, consistently graded, competitively priced and hundreds of in-depth blog posts to read
Stamp Community Forum

Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your Password?

Welcome Guest! Need help? Got a question? Inherit some stamps?
Our stamp forum is completely free! Register Now!

British Guiana 1860, Different Background Color?

To participate in the forum you must log in or register.
Author Previous TopicReplies: 7 / Views: 257Next Topic  

Canada
3 Posts
Posted 09/18/2020   3:11 pm  Show Profile Bookmark this topic Add jsilver to your friends list Get a Link to this Message
Here is a picture of my stamp:

(sorry it's a bit blurry)

The background behind the sails looks white.

Looking online for this stamp, all the pictures I can see have a colored background, eg:
https://siegelauctions.com/2016/1143/3150.jpg

Is it a variant of the same stamp or a different stamp or just worn down?

I am somewhat new to stamp collecting so sorry if this is a dumb question.
Send note to Staff
Edited by jsilver - 09/18/2020 3:15 pm

Pillar Of The Community
United States
6986 Posts
Posted 09/18/2020   3:50 pm  Show Profile Bookmark this reply Add Petert4522 to your friends list  Get a Link to this Reply
You will have to post a much better picture for this question, preferably a scan

Peter
Send note to Staff  Go to Top of Page
Valued Member
460 Posts
Posted 09/18/2020   3:51 pm  Show Profile Bookmark this reply Add stamps101 to your friends list  Get a Link to this Reply
Hello,

I cannot speak to the background, but if memory serves me correct on these, the word RETIMUSQUE spelled with an R indicates a forgery as it should read PETIMUSQUE.
Pillar Of The Community
United Kingdom
5110 Posts
Posted 09/18/2020   3:53 pm  Show Profile Bookmark this reply Add GeoffHa to your friends list  Get a Link to this Reply
Pillar Of The Community
Learn More...
3011 Posts