Stamp Community Family of Web Sites
Thousands of stamps, consistently graded, competitively priced and hundreds of in-depth blog posts to read
Stamp Community Forum

Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your Password?

Welcome Guest! Need help? Got a question? Inherit some stamps?
Our stamp forum is completely free! Register Now!

Denied Post Marking On Custom Cover At A Texas Post Office - Help!!

To participate in the forum you must log in or register.
Author Previous TopicReplies: 5 / Views: 343Next Topic  
Valued Member
United States
293 Posts
Posted 12/22/2020   10:08 pm  Show Profile Check pascoe's eBay Listings Bookmark this topic Add pascoe to your friends list Get a Link to this Message
Hello Community,

Custom cover newbie here with a blood pressure elevating situation on a subject you've discussed on the podcast recently. I need your help please :(

To be brief, I made a custom cover commemorating the anniversary of the death of a family member (Doolittle raider pilot in WWII) and took it into a San Antonio post office for hand cancellation / post marking to be handed back to me (to spare transfer in the mail and potential damage). The clerk told me that they couldn't post mark and hand back to me and it had to go "in the back."

I tried telling them that in their regulations that had to do this, that fell on deaf ears. I was livid and instead of asking for management I stormed out of there. I fortunately found another PO down the road that allowed me to post mark / cancel the cover myself - happy ending. See attached photo of the cover. I am from Colorado and happen to be in Texas for Christmas.

But, can you please provide me the specific reference in the USPS operations manual that I can print off and bring with me next time I attempt this? I should say I've done this 12 times before today without problem from a clerk before.