Stamp Community Family of Web Sites
Thousands of stamps, consistently graded, competitively priced and hundreds of in-depth blog posts to read
Stamp Community Forum

Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your Password?

Welcome Guest! Need help? Got a question? Inherit some stamps?
Our stamp forum is completely free! Register Now!

Question For A 1 Cent Franklin 51-57 Plater On How To Start Plate-Ing

To participate in the forum you must log in or register.
Author Previous TopicReplies: 9 / Views: 342Next Topic  
Valued Member
Learn More...
Netherlands
409 Posts
Posted 01/18/2021   5:46 pm  Show Profile Bookmark this topic Add Dutch US Stamp Collector to your friends list Get a Link to this Message
hi, I am new to this and could use sone guidance.

i got my 2 book set Ashbrook and the Nienken book in the mail last 2 weeks after understanding thees 2 are the holy grail of plating

very very happy with them, and as a bonus I also got myself the types and plates of the one cent 1851-1857 by ashbrook (the early 93 pages soft cover) publisched by scott in 1926

now my questions:
were do I start?
what book is the best to begin with? I was told neinken improved the ashbrook books...is that so?

and last, am I correct with how I think the sequence of plating works:
1. determin perf/unperf
2. determin type
3. determin relief
4. search individual characteristic within the group that is left

sorry, to all you experts this must sound like ..... questions but it would really help me to get some feedback on this before I dive in
Send note to Staff

Pillar Of The Community
Learn More...
United States
6200 Posts
Posted 01/18/2021   7:04 pm  Show Profile Bookmark this reply Add stallzer to your friends list  Get a Link to this Reply
Best start, read the books.
Send note to Staff  Go to Top of Page
Pillar Of The Community
United States
912 Posts
Posted 01/18/2021   7:13 pm  Show Profile Bookmark this reply Add rgstamp to your friends list  Get a Link to this Reply
Great question