Stamp Community Family of Web Sites
Thousands of stamps, consistently graded, competitively priced and hundreds of in-depth blog posts to read
Stamp Community Forum

Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your Password?

Welcome Guest! Need help? Got a question? Inherit some stamps?
Our stamp forum is completely free! Register Now!

How To Separate Stamps In Uncut Pane

To participate in the forum you must log in or register.
Author Previous TopicReplies: 3 / Views: 288Next Topic  

2 Posts
Posted 02/25/2021   10:58 am  Show Profile Bookmark this topic Add ss_book to your friends list Get a Link to this Message
I am new to the hobby and have bought a few panes from the USPS of that have multiple stamp designs. I would like to remove a strip or block of the multiple designs from a pane for my collection but I noticed that some panes do not have die cuts where I can separate the stamps I want. For example, I bought the "Innovation" pane of stamps (Scott 5518a) and each of the stamps perforations seems to be nested in the next stamp so I can not simply cut the stamps I want out without cutting the perforations of both stamps like I could if it was imperforate.

I wanted to know if someone could please share their knowledge on the best way to separate the stamps I want for a strip or block since I do want to include these in my new collection. Do you use scissors, exacto knife, etc., and what technique do you use to cut the pane?

Thanks!

Send note to Staff

Pillar Of The Community
United States
7325 Posts
Posted 02/25/2021   11:15 am  Show Profile Bookmark this reply Add Petert4522 to your friends list  Get a Link to this Reply
Do not cut it! I can not tell, but if your sheetlet is mis-perforated it is more valuable. Can you maybe post a scan of the die cuts closer up?
By the way, welcome to the forum!

Peter
Send note to Staff  Go to Top of Page
Edited by Petert4522 - 02/25/2021 11:18 am
2 Posts