Stamp Community Family of Web Sites
Thousands of stamps, consistently graded, competitively priced and hundreds of in-depth blog posts to read
Stamp Community Forum

Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your Password?

Welcome Guest! Need help? Got a question? Inherit some stamps?
Our stamp forum is completely free! Register Now!

Hello, I'm New To This World And Need Some Help!

To participate in the forum you must log in or register.
Author Previous TopicReplies: 6 / Views: 314Next Topic  

0 Posts
Posted 05/06/2021   3:27 pm  Show Profile Bookmark this topic Add asdfjkl to your friends list Get a Link to this Message
Hi all,

I began becoming more interested in philatelics and stamps after combing through my mother's FDC collection. I'm still a newbie but now combing through stamps and have some questions I hope you guys may have some answers or insights to.

(1)
Sometimes I see stamps that have a fine scratch that can only be seen in the light when the stamp is tilted at an angle. It appears there's some coating on the stamp. Is it chalk? These would probably downwardly affect the value I'm guessing - is that right?

(2)
I've seen this phenomenon occur with a few panes/sheets I've come across. It's like a perforation but not a perforation, more like a bump that appears like a perforation. Does anyone know what this error/oddity is called? Would this positively affect the value of the sheet/stamp?

(3)
I recently purchased a rare stamp booklet from an NHL collector online (BK265). There seems to be some fine-line scratches to the booklet back but not the stamps themselves (again, can only be seen at an angle). The top left of the booklet at the back appears to be some weird phenomenon showing. Anyone know what this is? The adhesive doesn't appear to be removed from the backing either.

Would all these things for this booklet negatively affect its value significantly? If so, I think I'll probably return this item to the seller. I purchased it for ~$13.00.