Stamp Community Family of Web Sites
Thousands of stamps, consistently graded, competitively priced and hundreds of in-depth blog posts to read
Stamp Community Forum

Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your Password?

Welcome Guest! Need help? Got a question? Inherit some stamps?
Our stamp forum is completely free! Register Now!

I'm New To Stamps And This Website

To participate in the forum you must log in or register.
Author Previous TopicReplies: 10 / Views: 357Next Topic  
Valued Member

Australia
29 Posts
Posted 05/07/2021   06:48 am  Show Profile Bookmark this topic Add Pshann to your friends list Get a Link to this Message
Please be patient- if I make a mistake
I did a few posts last week and obviously got it all wrong!
I have come across a large collection of stamps and used the web for reference.
Simply a country and picture
Naturally, I am only looking for the scarce stamps but amazed with the variety, quality and detail of same stamp but different slightly.
Interesting
I'm learning how there are so many variations of a stamp.
It's all unbelievably complex.
But I'll keep trying
Thanks
Paul

Send note to Staff

Valued Member
United States
433 Posts
Posted 05/07/2021   08:23 am  Show Profile Bookmark this reply Add Calstamp to your friends list  Get a Link to this Reply

Welcome, Paul. Thanks for sharing a few details about your collecting.

As you have discovered there are a wide variety of stamps produced within individual countries. The two largest categories are known as definitive and commemorative. The definitive typically includes a series of the same or similar design with differing denominations (e.g., one cent, two cent, etc.). Definitive stamps often feature a portrait of a significant person within the issuing country.

By contrast commemorative stamps (or issues) "commemorate" (or celebrate) a particular event or historic milestone. And often are limited to a single issue.