Stamp Community Family of Web Sites
Thousands of stamps, consistently graded, competitively priced and hundreds of in-depth blog posts to read
Stamp Community Forum

Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your Password?

Welcome Guest! Need help? Got a question? Inherit some stamps?
Our stamp forum is completely free! Register Now!

Help Understanding Scott # 65

To participate in the forum you must log in or register.
Author Previous TopicReplies: 5 / Views: 319Next Topic  
Valued Member
United States
8 Posts
Posted 05/09/2021   10:41 am  Show Profile Bookmark this topic Add kwc98 to your friends list Get a Link to this Message
Hello, I am new to this sport. I got this stamp in a lot from eBay. I would like to understand how to interpret this stamp. It was in a little holder that indicated it was a Scott #65, a hopeful 'Green Cancel?' written on it. (it looks blue to me) and it has a little check mark that says VF.

When I look at #65 on eBay, most are not nearly as attractive as this stamp. So that is what I am wondering. What do I need to look at on this stamp? How do I evaluate it? (beyond it is 'neat' looking.)

This stamp also indicated that it was #65, but how would I know the color? bright rose, dull red, rose red, etc? If it did not have #65 on it, how would I know it from a #64?

What do you think?
Thanks!

Send note to Staff

Pillar Of The Community
United States
774 Posts
Posted 05/09/2021   10:55 am  Show Profile Check orstampman's eBay Listings Bookmark this reply Add orstampman to your friends list  Get a Link to this Reply
Looks like a Scott 65 to me. Always hard to tell the true color from a scan, because it depends upon lighting and the scanner, but it looks like a rose or brownish rose to me. Definitely not one of the pink, rose pink, etc. colors.

The target cancel is blue.

The centering is more of an average to fine, but not very fine.
Send note to Staff  Go to Top of Page
Pillar Of The Community
United States
1482 Posts