Stamp Community Family of Web Sites
Thousands of stamps, consistently graded, competitively priced and hundreds of in-depth blog posts to read
Stamp Community Forum

Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your Password?

Welcome Guest! Need help? Got a question? Inherit some stamps?
Our stamp forum is completely free! Register Now!

What Is The Name Of This One Penny Stamp?

To participate in the forum you must log in or register.
Author Previous TopicReplies: 9 / Views: 233Next Topic  

3 Posts
Posted 09/23/2022   09:19 am  Show Profile Bookmark this topic Add EmilySloth to your friends list Get a Link to this Message
Hi, I am new to this, I'm 25 and thought it would be fun to buy stamps in an auction so I am just labelling things. The app I am using can not identify this stamp, what is it?

Send note to Staff

Valued Member
United Kingdom
54 Posts
Posted 09/23/2022   09:38 am  Show Profile Bookmark this reply Add Nuc5 to your friends list  Get a Link to this Reply
Hi Emily,

The stamp is the 1d Venetian Red Stanley Gibbons identification SG166 issued on January 1st 1880 with a catalogue value of ~ 3.00.

Kind Regards,

Steve
Send note to Staff  Go to Top of Page
3 Posts
Posted 09/23/2022   10:00 am  Show Profile Bookmark this reply Add EmilySloth to your friends list  Get a Link to this Reply
Hi Nuc5. Thank you for your reply. How did you find all that info out ? Do you have a website or is that your own knowledge
Edited by EmilySloth - 09/23/2022 10:00 am
Pillar Of The Community
Netherlands
1856 Posts
Posted 09/23/2022   10:10 am  Show Profile Bookmark this reply Add NSK to your friends list  Get a Link to this Reply
This is the 1d stamp from what is known as the 'provisional issues.'

Nuc5 already identified it for you.
Valued Member
Canada
192 Posts
Posted 09/23/2022   10:26 am  Show Profile Bookmark this reply Add PMStamp to your friends list  Get a Link to this Reply