Stamp Community Family of Web Sites
Thousands of stamps, consistently graded, competitively priced and hundreds of in-depth blog posts to read
Stamp Community Forum

Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your Password?

Welcome Guest! Need help? Got a question? Inherit some stamps?
Our stamp forum is completely free! Register Now!

Image Color Adjustment When Scanning Stamps

To participate in the forum you must log in or register.
Author Previous TopicReplies: 14 / Views: 471Next Topic  

United States
4 Posts
Posted 06/30/2020   09:58 am  Show Profile Bookmark this topic Add matter314 to your friends list Get a Link to this Message
Hello all- I'm very new to the stamp collecting hobby. I collected for a few years as a teenager, and am now getting back into it after college. I'm enjoying scanning the stamps I have to create an online catalog of my collection- I figure this will help prevent wear and tear on the originals since I won't have to pull them out quite so often to look at them!

My question is about what the experienced experts on this forum do to tweak color/contrast of the stamps they scan. I've found that my scanner produces images that are a bit bright and unnatural looking- at least to me! I've attached an image to show what I'm talking about. On the left is a photo I took with my camera, which I think best shows the color of this stamp. In the middle is the unedited scanned version. On the right is the scan after I've tried tweaking the colors to match to photo. I've seen some people on various sites discourage image color adjustment because it can dishonestly represent the stamp's appearance. Is doing adjustment to try to match the "true" color discouraged as well? What would you all suggest is a "best practice" I should try to follow?

Thanks in advance for all your help! I'm excited to be a part of the forum!

*** Moved by Staff to a more appropriate forum. ***
Send note to Staff
Edited by matter314 - 06/30/2020 11:10 am

Valued Member