| Author |
Replies: 15 / Views: 2,776 |
|
|
Pillar Of The Community

United States
1493 Posts |
|
|
While I am not personally interested in purchasing this stamp, I thought I would ask members for their opinion. I have never purchased anything from this seller ... nor will I since I once asked him if he would relax his 14-day return policy to allow for expertization. No answer ... which to me meant NO. I am not an expert, but I do have serious questions about the stamp. In particular, if genuine, why would it not be offered at one of the well known auction sites? It also seems extremely well-centered for a 539 ... and I question some of the perforations, especially those on the right. But again, I am not an expert. It will be interesting to see the winning bid. http://www.ebay.com/itm/19206563440...RK:MEBIDX:IT
|
|
Send note to Staff
|
|
|
|
|
Pillar Of The Community
United States
4087 Posts |
|
|
Pillar Of The Community
United States
737 Posts |
|
|
WARNINGbestlowprices is one of Philip Ryle's (the British Cartel) ebay personae.  See the 9 page thread at http://www.stampboards.com/viewtopi...b8&start=400He has a ton of them; (i.e. "mint_stamps", "rush-more", "postage-dues", "re-entry" "bargaindiscountstampsales85", "collectstamps", "superdeal70", and "collect4".) ebay periodically delists the ones with the most complaints (i.e. "tenshillings"). He's based in the UK but pretends to be in the U.S. CAVEAT EMPTOR |
Send note to Staff
|
|
|
Moderator

United States
12330 Posts |
|
|
Quote: ...It will be interesting to see the winning bid... The 'winning' bid will be whatever he wants it to be, he has multiple ebay accounts (40-50+). ebay finally got around to NARUing his 'collect-coins' name a week or two ago. I would add that he also just opened a new retail website where he is buying/selling stamps. I am not going to link it here since this would just drive more traffic to it. The domain name is registered to a new Canadian company and his name is not mentioned on the site. Like many folks I am wiling to deal with someone if I am just risking a few dollars. But when we move to dropping significant money on things we do not have in hand, we really should understand who we are dealing with. Don |
Send note to Staff
|
|
|
Moderator

United States
12330 Posts |
|
|
Some additional input on the stamp in question...
As is typical for this seller, the stamp in mis-described. It is not a #539 but rather a #540. The lower hair in the lock behind the ear is longer. The missing ribbon line may have been scraped off. And no 539 would be this color or have this strong an impression.
Again, if you are spending significant money on stamps at this level do not be fooled into buying from people who you do not know. I get emails from folks who have decades of experience who felt they knew enough to buy from images and/or would be protected by eBays' return policies. Ask yourself if you owned stamps that are worth more than several hundred dollars would you list them starting at $0.01 if you didn't have a way to prevent yourself from losing a lot of money? Rolling the dice on an unknown seller, given that they may simple be a felon who is hiding their real identity, is always a possibility when you spot a 'deal'. Good sellers know their stamps and know what a quality stamp is worth.
There are plenty of good sellers (i.e. Clark Frazier) if you are buying higher level material. Ask other hobbyists who they have used, look for memberships in hobby organizations, and do your homework with any seller you do not know. Don
|
Send note to Staff
|
|
|
Valued Member
United States
299 Posts |
|
|
Pillar Of The Community

United States
1493 Posts |
|
|
Thanks for all of the replies. Don, I find I pretty much agree with your assessment. My first inclination was to assume that this was likely a slightly modified 540. It seemed the likely choice because of the perforations. But I was not aware that this particular ebay handle was one of the many used by the cartel. Useful info. I also agree with your opinion that a stamp of this supposed caliber should only be purchased from a trusted seller ... and even then, one would want a cert. |
Send note to Staff
|
|
|
Pillar Of The Community
United States
644 Posts |
|
|
Excellent advice from Don as usual. ebay is no place to be buying rare and specialized stamps UNLESS the following apply: 1) You are prepared to lose every penny that you just bid and not feel it. 2) You actually ARE a very experienced collector and can spot a 540 masquerading as a 539 like Don just did. 3) The seller offers a no questions asked return policy. 4) A quick google search of the seller shows that he's a good guy. Not everyone on ebay is bad.. Some of the best known and most prominent dealers in Philately are there; Richard Frajola sells there from time to time and he is beyond reproach. Stanley Piller also sells there and I absolutely trust Stanley and have known him my whole life. There's also a number of other sellers who are good people and can be trusted, and then there's the crooks. Like anything else you need to research your seller and do your due diligence. |
Send note to Staff
|
|
|
Pillar Of The Community

United States
1951 Posts |
|
|
Kudos to JJLebbert for brining this to our attention. Also to Don for educating us on how stamps are altered to be something which they are not.
Jack Kelley |
Send note to Staff
|
|
|
Pillar Of The Community

United States
1493 Posts |
|
|
One final note. For those (like me) who may not be fully aware of the color differences between 539 & 540 that Don pointed out, I suggest you visit the Philatelic Foundation web site. There you can search out their existing 539 certificates. The sixth entry on the first page of certs shows a 540 that has been modified to resemble a 539. Compare the color of that stamp to the ones above & below it ... and/or compare one of the certified 539s with the stamp now offered on ebay. |
Send note to Staff
|
|
|
Pillar Of The Community
Canada
1449 Posts |
|
|
JLL What is the exact link to these certificates ?- Home page of the foundation contains ++++ info !
Thanks |
Send note to Staff
|
|
|
Pillar Of The Community

United States
936 Posts |
|
|
Pillar Of The Community

United States
1493 Posts |
|
|
You can go to philatelicfoundation.org. The first screen has a spot in the upper left hand corner that you can click on to get to the search screen. There just enter the Scott number of the certs that you want to see. Or just click on the link below ... it will take you directly to the 539 certs. I included all the other info in case you want to search for different certs. http://pfsearch.org/pfsearch/pf_grd...lledfrom=lkp |
Send note to Staff
|
|
|
Pillar Of The Community
Canada
1449 Posts |
|
|
Pillar Of The Community
721 Posts |
|
|
WOW - Thanks for the education. At a 100% rating I would not have hesitated to purchase from this seller. Great thread! |
Send note to Staff
|
|
|
Pillar Of The Community
United States
567 Posts |
|
| |
Replies: 15 / Views: 2,776 |
|