Stamp Community Family of Web Sites
Thousands of stamps, consistently graded, competitively priced and hundreds of in-depth blog posts to read
Stamp Community Forum

Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your Password?

Welcome Guest! Need help? Got a question? Inherit some stamps?
Our stamp forum is completely free! Register Now!

Western Australia Watermarks

To participate in the forum you must log in or register.
Author Previous TopicReplies: 11 / Views: 284Next Topic  
Valued Member
Learn More...
United States
337 Posts
Posted 04/09/2020   1:47 pm  Show Profile Bookmark this topic Add EMaxim to your friends list Get a Link to this Message
My admittedly older copy of Gibbons says that between 1864 and 1882 both the Crown CC and Crown CA watermarks are normally sideways and, viewed from the back, show crown to the left of the two letters beneath, with variants showing crown to the right.

I'm new to this collecting area and am wondering what these watermarks look like. How far to the left or right? I've searched the web and this site for an image: no luck. Can anyone help?
Send note to Staff

Bedrock Of The Community
Learn More...
Australia
29354 Posts
Posted 04/09/2020   3:55 pm  Show Profile Bookmark this reply Add rod222 to your friends list  Get a Link to this Reply
Hi Eric,
Just take your normal Watermark impression (as seen from the back)
Then rotate it 90 degrees to the left or right.
That's what is meant by the advice. The Watermark remains identical at all times, it is just the paper was put through the print stage in differing orientations.

In this image, imagine the cross on top of the crown, on your stamps,
pointing to the left or the right.
Hope this makes sense to you.
Send note to Staff  Go to Top of Page
Edited by rod222 - 04/09/2020 4:02 pm
Valued Member
Learn More...
United States
337 Posts
Posted 04/09/2020   4:35 pm  Show Profile Bookmark this reply Add EMaxim to your friends list  Get a Link to this Reply