Stamp Community Family of Web Sites
Thousands of stamps, consistently graded, competitively priced and hundreds of in-depth blog posts to read
Stamp Community Forum

Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your Password?

Welcome Guest! Need help? Got a question? Inherit some stamps?
Our stamp forum is completely free! Register Now!

Selling On Ebay Vs HipStamp - A 3 Month Analysis

To participate in the forum you must log in or register.
Author Previous TopicReplies: 13 / Views: 660Next Topic  
Valued Member

United States
65 Posts
Posted 06/30/2020   11:58 am  Show Profile Bookmark this topic Add pnjstamps to your friends list Get a Link to this Message
I'm trying to assess the current online stamp selling market and thought others might be interested in my results.

First, a little background: I've been selling stamps on Ebay since 1997 so I've witnessed the evolution of the online marketplace. Back in 2012 when Bidstart was gaining traction as an Ebay alternative for stamp sellers I set up an account there and had mediocre success. Over the 3 years I ran a Bidstart store in parallel with Ebay it generated about 40% of the sales that ebay did. Towards the end in 2015 though, traffic had become almost non-existent on Bidstart so I walked away. In 2017-8 I revisited the re-branded Bidstart site (now Hipstamp) and tried them again. During that period, Hipstamp sales were only about 17% of my sales on ebay and towards the end I had a couple months with zero sales on Hipstamp, so again I walked away.

Now to the current trial: Due to a quarantine, I had a little bit more time on my hands so I thought I'd give Hipstamp a try again. I got an introductory offer that waived store subscription fees while I got set up. So, for April-June I've had a store on both Ebay and Hipstamp.

Results:
For the 3 full months (Apr-Jun) of selling on Ebay I had 368 items sell for a gross sales of ~$4,250.