Stamp Community Family of Web Sites
Thousands of stamps, consistently graded, competitively priced and hundreds of in-depth blog posts to read
Stamp Community Forum

Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your Password?

Welcome Guest! Need help? Got a question? Inherit some stamps?
Our stamp forum is completely free! Register Now!

Help Id-Ing When Spanish Letter Was Sent

To participate in the forum you must log in or register.
Author Previous TopicReplies: 14 / Views: 830Next Topic  

United Kingdom
4 Posts
Posted 02/17/2022   07:31 am  Show Profile Bookmark this topic Add WiredMag2022 to your friends list Get a Link to this Message
Hello,

I'm a journalist with WIRED magazine, and I need some help identifying when a letter was sent, if that is possible.

Below are two images of the stamps / postmarks. The letter was supposedly sent on February 02, 2022. I know the stamp (of Juan Carlos I) was first issued in 2002 and Juan Carlos abdicated in 2014, so they may no longer be in common use although I am not sure of that.

Is it possible to tell from these images when the letter was sent?

Very happy to provide any extra info if needed. Thank you for your help!

Matt
Send note to Staff

Valued Member
United States
67 Posts
Posted 02/17/2022   07:50 am  Show Profile Bookmark this reply Add mljespe to your friends list  Get a Link to this Reply
You can try this website to create an account and then use to try to see the stamps thru various color variations (it may help).

http://retroreveal.org/
Send note to Staff  Go to Top of Page
Pillar Of The Community
Netherlands
1505 Posts
Posted 02/17/2022   08:11 am  Show Profile Bookmark this reply Add NSK to your friends list  Get a Link to this Reply
@WiredMag2022,

If this was sent by a stamp dealer, it would not be strange for this dealer to sit on a large stock of Juan Carlos I stamps and using it for postage.