Stamp Community Family of Web Sites
Thousands of stamps, consistently graded, competitively priced and hundreds of in-depth blog posts to read








Stamp Community Forum
 
Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your Password?

This page may contain links that result in small commissions to keep this free site up and running.

Welcome Guest! Registering and/or logging in will remove the anchor (bottom) ads. It's Free!

Here They Go Again...

 
To participate in the forum you must log in or register.
Author Previous TopicReplies: 11 / Views: 2,939Next Topic  
Pillar Of The Community
United States
1756 Posts
Posted 10/11/2014   3:35 pm  Show Profile Bookmark this topic Add disi123 to your friends list Get a Link to this Message
Rushmore Bargains... lists a cheap 498 as a 540,
(quite obviously *not* a Ty III) to bait 'treasure
hunting buyers' into thinking they 'mis-advertised'
a 539 as a 540... the back image tells all...

http://www.ebay.com/itm/1919-US-Was...em43d054d838

(sorry, no graphics software on this computer to post image)
Send note to Staff

Pillar Of The Community
United States
937 Posts
Posted 10/11/2014   7:46 pm  Show Profile Bookmark this reply Add Historical DNA Collector to your friends list  Get a Link to this Reply
From the ebay auction:




498 is a typo. You mean 499 and 461, right?

Yeah there is no way this is a 540. That would be 11x10, this stamp is obviously 11x11. Wouldn't be 500 due to incorrect color. Could be 499 or 461 with the main difference being the presence of a single line watermark on a 461.

They should have tried to sell it a 546. At least the perfs would be correct. That's a pricey stamp, but obviously not one because of the ink offset.

In the end, it could be a 461. That would make it a steal.
Send note to Staff  Go to Top of Page
Pillar Of The Community
United States
1756 Posts
Posted 10/11/2014   9:08 pm  Show Profile Bookmark this reply Add disi123 to your friends list  Get a Link to this Reply
Yes... typo... I meant 499... thank you...

It would serve them right if someone purchased
the stamp (cheaply) and it turned out to be
a 461... but, knowing (of them) more than likely
they checked for watermark...
Send note to Staff  Go to Top of Page
Pillar Of The Community
United States
937 Posts
Posted 10/11/2014   10:01 pm  Show Profile Bookmark this reply Add Historical DNA Collector to your friends list  Get a Link to this Reply
No worries disi. Considering the overall ineptitude of the seller, I don't think that they even check for a watermark let alone know the subtleties of identifying them. Regardless, they're a bad and or fraudulent seller.

None know other than the seller what their intentions are. We're speculating. Regardless, the seller is not knowledgeable nor credible enough to accurately call out catalog numbers.

Your initial assessment that Rushmore Bargains is a sh**ty seller is still very true.
Send note to Staff  Go to Top of Page
Edited by Historical DNA Collector - 10/11/2014 11:06 pm
Valued Member
United States
5 Posts
Posted 10/13/2014   3:56 pm  Show Profile Bookmark this reply Add ak_stamp to your friends list  Get a Link to this Reply
Hi folks. I'm a long time lurker on this site (ton's of good info) but a first time poster here. I won an ebay bid for a Scott #1 from "rushmore_bargins" yesterday. I've been trying to find a reasonably priced #1 for my collection (and one that is of decent quality). I saw the posting and made what I felt was a fair bid on it (~$160). In my haste to bid, I did not research the seller and thought the scanned images looked legit. Now I'm a little worried after seeing this recent forum discussion. I have not bought anything to date from this seller. Please take a look at the ebay scans below. I would appreciate your input on this stamp/purchase. Do you think the stamp looks legit? Should I be concerned about the stamp given the bad reputation of the seller? The stamp should arrive at my doorstep this week. Thanks!
-Jeff








Send note to Staff  Go to Top of Page
Moderator
Learn More...
United States
12330 Posts
Posted 10/13/2014   5:13 pm  Show Profile Bookmark this reply Add 51studebaker to your friends list  Get a Link to this Reply
The images always look good; appears to be a crease in corner and possibility small thin.

When you get the stamp float it immediately and look for repairs/fills/thins/rebacking since the reputation is for this seller is that other material from him reflects these kinds of modifications. He is also well-known for washing pen cancels but from the images I don't see any sign of that.

The price seems good enough but be aware that if you try to return anything to him you will probably run into trouble (see his ebay feedback for others experiences). Given the price and the potential headaches that this seller represents; you might be best to simply keep the stamp and mark it up to a 'learning experience'.
Send note to Staff  Go to Top of Page
Pillar Of The Community
United States
578 Posts
Posted 10/13/2014   5:46 pm  Show Profile Bookmark this reply Add srailkb to your friends list  Get a Link to this Reply
Jeff (ak_stamp,) my guess is that this is a second printing dark brown. Even though it's almost certainly faulty (others already spotted the corner crease, and Don is probably right - small thin top center,) it's very likely you have a better shade to add to your collection. In case you're wondering, Scott 1a (dark brown) catalogs $900 (vs. $400 for regular red-brown Scott 1) in the 2015 Specialized. Even with the faults, it would be a good buy at $160.

I'll post the usual caveat that scan colors can be deceiving. However, it the shade turns out to be anything close to the scan, it's probably somewhere in the Scott 1a family.
Send note to Staff  Go to Top of Page
Pillar Of The Community
Learn More...
United States
1951 Posts
Posted 10/13/2014   8:10 pm  Show Profile Bookmark this reply Add jkelley01938 to your friends list  Get a Link to this Reply
Much has been said about Rushmore Bargains. My question is: Are there other vendors on ebay which we should be concerned with? If so, who are they and do we have a list here on SCF?

Jack Kelley
Send note to Staff  Go to Top of Page
Pillar Of The Community
United States
526 Posts
Posted 10/13/2014   8:59 pm  Show Profile Bookmark this reply Add Hieronymus to your friends list  Get a Link to this Reply
Jack Kelley,

Try http://www.stampboards.com/viewtopi...53&start=200

It's long but comprehensive. Go to p. 8 and start with Aug. 28, 2014 -- there's a series of lists of aliases used by several of the scammers. The upthread stuff documents all the scams.



Send note to Staff  Go to Top of Page
Moderator
Learn More...
United States
12330 Posts
Posted 10/16/2014   12:20 pm  Show Profile Bookmark this reply Add 51studebaker to your friends list  Get a Link to this Reply
Rushmore is current selling under the name 'hmorgan10' (and under name 'hmorgan56'). Here is an example of one of his recent ebay listing.
http://www.ebay.com/itm/14141888939...3%26_rdc%3D1
for a 'US 2c Brinkerhoff, 1909 Sc 371 OGNH Cat value $1600'

It is a faked perf that had been submitted for a certification but rejected. Apparently it is easier to ignore the failed cert, throw it back up on ebay, and see if people will line up to buy it again (which is exactly what has happened). Pity the poor person who purchased this fake and is now out their $177. Chances are good that this stamp will disappear into someone collection and sit there for years without being detected. Philately takes another hit due to greed.

Here is the failed cert

Send note to Staff  Go to Top of Page
Pillar Of The Community
United States
669 Posts
Posted 10/16/2014   6:04 pm  Show Profile Bookmark this reply Add kcaramat to your friends list  Get a Link to this Reply
I wouldn't be too worried about it disappearing. I'm sure one of their other IDs will be offering it again real soon.

I just don't understand how they can absorb all of the final value fees ??

Just checked and I see Super Deals has relisted it in the last couple days.
Send note to Staff  Go to Top of Page
Edited by kcaramat - 10/16/2014 6:07 pm
Pillar Of The Community
United States
1414 Posts
Posted 10/16/2014   11:36 pm  Show Profile Bookmark this reply Add cfrphoto to your friends list  Get a Link to this Reply
I have some concerns about the red cancel on the US #1. Some traces of it can be seen on the back which may indicate that it was added over a removed pen cancel. While a removed pen cancel can sometimes be seen under long wave UV light, a device like the APEX Crime Scope or a VSC-6000 would be needed to be sure. Also, the back of the stamp has too many paper color variations. It is likely that the stamp had a long and interesting history and may not have come from a good home where it was always well cared for.

Clark
Send note to Staff  Go to Top of Page
  Previous TopicReplies: 11 / Views: 2,939Next Topic  
 
To participate in the forum you must log in or register.

Go to Top of Page

Disclaimer: While a tremendous amount of effort goes into ensuring the accuracy of the information contained in this site, Stamp Community assumes no liability for errors. Copyright 2005 - 2026 Stamp Community Family - All rights reserved worldwide. Use of any images or content on this website without prior written permission of Stamp Community or the original lender is strictly prohibited.
Privacy Policy / Terms of Use    Advertise Here
Stamp Community Forum © 2007 - 2026 Stamp Community Forums
It took 0.34 seconds to lick this stamp. Powered By: Snitz Forums 2000 Version 3.4.05